Physical security of v1.2 Crypto Stick?

I was recently viewing a fascinating series of videos from the 2010 Black Hat conference regarding hacking smartcard chips. The link to this video series is mentioned on the Crypto Stick website.

In summary, the speaker was demonstrating how he was able to access the smartcard CPU die and by using probes and other methods, get the chip to reveal its secrets. It turns out that many smartcards aren’t terribly secure against physical attack from an informed, dedicated, and skilled adversary with suitable equipment.

I suspect that I am unlikely to face such an adversary, but it still prompts me to raise the following questions:

1. How are keys stored on the v1.2 Crypto Stick? (That is, are they written in plaintext to storage? Are they encrypted in storage?)

2. How are the CPU and relevant circuits physically protected internally? (I am no expert, but the speaker suggests that there are a variety of means of physically protecting the CPU such as putting metal mesh over the circuits.)

3. There does not appear to be any external physical protection (for example, encasing chips and circuits in epoxy) of the Crypto Stick circuits and components that are visible through the transparent plastic case. Is such protection being considered in the future?

On a computer, GnuPG protects the private key using a symmetric cipher with a key derived from the user’s passphrase. If an adversary acquires one’s private key file, it would be extremely difficult for them to make use of it without knowledge of the passphrase. However, if the private key is stored unencrypted on the Crypto Stick or other OpenPGP smartcard (even if the cards use a PIN to deny use of the key through ordinary communication channels), the key is vulnerable to being read off the card’s storage if the adversary can physically access the internals of the chip.