Two new NitroKey-related packages coming to Debian

This is an announcement rather than a support request. I’m a Debian Developer and I have just packaged and uploaded to packages that should be of interest to some NitroKey users:

OpenCard Framework

This includes ocf-cc as a command line executable, with working bash completion.

nitrotool

This includes full featured bash completion.

If Ubuntu users are interested, I could upload these packages to a Launchpad PPA for easy installation.

3 Likes

Very cool initiative! Did you consider adding “nitrotool” to OpenSC itself? For example, OpenSC contains openpgp-tool already, which is used for other Nitrokeys.

I didn’t write nitrotool, I just packaged it. My experience trying to
get changes in OpenSC some years ago makes me not want to revisit trying
to get stuff integrated there. But its fine by me if someone else wants
to do it. I don’t really have an opinion of where that code belongs, I
just want it to be easy to install and use.

Great news. I was already wondering about the ITP e-mail in my inbox.

I’ve grabbed the opportunity to release a long standing update to OCF 1.5.209. This release replaces proprietary logging with SLF4J.

Please remember, that there are two jars now, a library in lib/ocf.jar and a command line utility in ocf-cc.jar. The later is the lib bundled with SLF4J, so it can be started directly.

The ocf-cc.jar is used as Web Client for the ScriptingServer, e.g. to access the PKI-as-a-Service Portal.

Btw. an alternative for accessing the portal is to use the latest Smart Card Shell which has a build-in web client that can be activated with Options/Preferences/Start Background web client. If you are a heavy SmartCard-HSM user then there is no need to switch programs.

We also just yesterday released a new version 2.11 of the SmartCard-HSM / Nitrokey HSM middleware. Would be great to have that available in Debian too.