Nitrokey 3 / Keepass XC can not find Nitrokey

Hey there,
I am new to 2FA keys and recently bought a few Nitrokey 3.

I am currently using PopOS and tried the AppImage and Flatpak versions of KeepassXC for the challenge response but it did not work.
I checked out several forum topics here but could not find a clear path to get it working.

• I installed nitropy
  • I set the udev rules
  • Firmware update was not necessary. The key already has 1.5.0
  • I did “nitropy nk3 test” and everything looks fine.
  • KeepassXC has version 2.7.6
  • The Key also works for my E-mail clients

I then followed this instruction:

I got a confirmation that the secret is stored correctly with that command: “nitropy nk3 secrets list”.

I also started the pcsd service with this command:
“sudo systemctl start pcscd.service”

I also did the following command “pcsc_scan -r” and the key is visible in the output.

I restarted the device, closed the tools, plugged the stick in before opening keepassxc, etc.

I can not get it working. Any idea why?
Do I need to change some settings in KeepassXC?

I read something about the “gpg --card-status”, not sure if thats necessary?

Thx.

A “gpg --card-status” is not related.

We figured in the forum that Keepassxc has a number of issues regarding a stable recognition of hardware keys, both the flatpak and other/regular installs.

Try the following:

1. start/enable the pcscd.service
  2. Plug in the key with started and wait a few seconds after the LED turns off
  3. Only then start keepassxc and navigate to what you want to do (either create a new database or open the existing one)
  4. Is the Nitrokey key listed in the field to select a hardware key? If not, press the refresh button. If it is not listed, try again with patience between 2 and 3 after a reboot.
    What happens?

Hey,

thank you for the reply and the suggestion.