Nitrokey vs. onlykey

Hey!

I am really new to this topic and really not a expert in security things. I am just part of a peace community and so i want to protect my data. After searching the web for a while i found two poroducts i am really interested in: The Nitrokey, because it is made in germany and the onlykey because it seems the most secure password manager/creator on the market. It has external keys to enter the pin which makes it for my understanding impossible to grab the pin(s) with a keylogger. So what do you think about this? Am i wrong?

Thank you a lot for your reply!

I only can give you my personal opinion, but I don’t think that keys with a keyboard are more secure. I have read multiple reviews of Sticks ( like Padlock von Corsair) that have design issues ( you could unlock it without the keys on the stick)
So to my mind, the keys are a show. I rather recommend to use a SoC system without network to use for communication between crypto key and yourself.

Please also be aware that you don’t get the full functionality of only key outside US. Also they claim as marketing things that Nitrokey already has. And I also think, NK does it in the right way to share the source of Firmware and supporting Software. Are you sure that only key doesn’t#t send data elsewhere ?

And - regarding the key logger - to attack you need not only a key logger on your computer, you also need physical access to the key itself. Let’s say sitting in China, knowing your PIN, doesn’t help if you are in US :smiley:
So for me, NK is the better product !

Thanks for your reply. But i have to tell you that you are wrong with your opinion. Probably you are right that it isn’t s benefit of onlykey that you are entering the pin external.

But onlykey is opensource like nitokey so probably not i but anyone else could check the code for security issues and if the key sends data somewhere?!