PAM configuration - Does it make sense to add pam_deny after pam_u2f?

I’m wondering if you should deny password fallbacks if pam_u2f module doesn’t succeed, e.g.:

auth       sufficient                  pam_u2f.so           authfile=/etc/Nitrokey/u2f_keys cue prompt
auth       requisite                   pam_deny.so

Docs only seem to mention u2f in the role of a second factor or leaving passwords as a fallback. Is using pam_deny excessive? Am I missing a bigger picture here - some scenarios in which this could backfire?

EDIT: It seems like this should be provided with requisite option without needing pam_deny, but for some reason it doesn’t work - it still keeps asking for password after successful pam_u2f.

I’m a PAM amateur, but my issues have been with apps (specifically, GUI apps) expecting some sort keyboard input. SDDM, for example, sits and stares stupidly at you waiting for some sort of text input, so I can’t use pam_u2f to log in. However, systems like SDDM also have their own PAM configuration files, so you might to work around non-pam_u2f-supporting systems by overriding the “default” settings.

My suggestion is to work for a bit with a password fallback, assuming that PAM will fall back if it can’t detect your Nitrokey. I’ve had PAM soft-lock waiting for a definite fail signal before moving onto the next authentication system. If you can go for a while without issues, then try going fully passwordless. Just keep a recovery boot disc handy in case you get locked out of your system on the next dist-upgrade.

In summary, Nitrokey on pam_u2f works fine (from my experience). However, some apps (cough, KDE) don’t know how to deal with non-password authentication methods.

1 Like