Recovery Nitrokey HSM firmware

Hello! I can’t restore the firmware for the Nitrokey HSM 2. After installing the firmware from GitHub (via JTAG), pkcs11/15 doesn’t find the slots. Serial number is wrong after re-flashing.

$ pkcs11-tool -I
Cryptoki version 2.20
Manufacturer OpenSC Project
Library OpenSC smartcard framework (ver 0.20)
error: PKCS11 function C_GetSlotInfo failed: rv = CKR_GENERAL_ERROR (0x5)
Aborting.
$ pkcs15-tool -D
Using reader with a card: Nitrokey Nitrokey HSM (01A001000000000 ) 00 00
PKCS#15 binding failed: Transmit failed

Could you help me please to re-init it?

Which firmware did you try to modify and how? Can you provide the details?

Hello I’ve programmed Release HSM: support new hardware platform · Nitrokey/nitrokey-pro-firmware · GitHub this build through JTAG (using j-link), and after that pkcs dosn’t see the slots.

Well, maybe you should try to roll back. I’ve never done this before, as the SmartCard applet is much more interesting than this firmware.

What are the USB Vendor / Device IDs reported by the device?
Can you compare them to the old ones before the upgrade?

I didn’t check it before, but serial number was changed. I’ve googled Nitrokey HSM 2 logs and PID/VID looks the same. Also, I cannot update SmartCard applet as well.

I don’t know why are you even doing this, but if I read properly the newest firmware is meant for 4.0 devices. Maybe you should try something from the older branch GitHub - Nitrokey/nitrokey-pro-firmware at ci-hsm

Thanks, I will try, I’ve also programmed this one Release HSM2 release · Nitrokey/nitrokey-pro-firmware · GitHub but it was the same result.

Can you dump available USB descriptors? And please do not avoid putting actual data in your reply.
Besides, if you are a JTAG expert, you can probably try to debug the code via JTAG.

I think, that I’m really using a wrong version of firmware for my key. Also the another strange things:
on the original firmware the name was