Switching to Nitrokey from Yubikey

First of all let me say that I’m not too experienced in the field, so my question might be too obvious.

I currently own a pair of Yubikeys 4 and use it with LastPass for authentification. I basically want to use Nitrokey instead of Yubikey for that purpose.

• I’m I right to think that LP and YK use FIDO 2UF to authenticate?
  • If so, can I setup NK with Lastpass using setup guide for YK (as if I had YK)
  • If the above true, what models of NK can I use for that, only Fido U2F or other too?

Thank you

Hello @Nitinefutr,

as your questions mainly aim at the usage of LastPass, which I never used, please be aware that I answer your questions as best as I can based on the information online on https://lastpass.com

The NK Keys (Pro and Storage only) are officially tested and working only with KeePass as far as I know. KeePass is an Open Source password manager which allows the usage of OTP (One-time Password One-time password - Wikipedia), so that one can use the NK as a second factor to access the key database of KeePass. This is probably similar to your usage of the Yubikey to access LastPass, thus being offline.

Besides you can use the internal password safe of the NK Pro or NK storage and just carrying you passwords secured with you instead uploading them to LastPass at all.

But as I think that you tend to still use LastPass this won’t be useful for you, so let’'s look further.

I’m I right to think that LP and YK use FIDO 2UF to authenticate?

No, it uses one-time passwords (often referred to as OTP) Customer
LP makes clear that they does not intend to imlement U3F support until there is native U2F support in Firefox. Customer

If so, can I setup NK with Lastpass using setup guide for YK (as if I had YK)

As NK Pro and Storage support one-time passwords that might work with this keys but I won’t be to sure. It does not seem as LastPass serves universal solutions on this login with different devices…