What is SO PIN and what is PIN?

I’m a noob and I googled and searched on Nitrokey docs and there’s no answer on what exactly is SO PIN or PIN.

Such as this command…

$ sc-hsm-tool --initialize --so-pin 3537363231383830 --pin 648219

I guess SO PIN is “3537363231383830” and PIN is “648219” but can I change the SO PIN and PIN? Why is everyone starting with the same SO PIN and PIN?

UPDATE: I’m using Nitrokey 3A Mini USB

Make sure you use a Nitrokey HSM 2 and not any other model. In that case there are no default PINs and during initialization you define both PINs with the command you just showed. Of course you should use different PINs than used in this example.

2 Likes

Sorry I forgot to say, I have Nitrokey 3A Mini USB key. But I thought HSM 2 is no longer in production. Only 3 is available.

Please follow the documentation of Nitrokey 3.

HSM 2 and Nitrokey 3 are totally different products.

1 Like

Yeah, I just learned about this the hard way. I bought the wrong item - Nitrokey 3. If I’m interested in running PKI and wanting to store my root CA keys, which product should I use?

And does Nitrokey allow full refund of the wrong item? What’s the procedure? I emailed the support and there’s no response yet.

Thanks for sharing your use case. You had some more questions.

1. SO PIN and PIN difference.

A HSM follows a model where you have split responsibilities. Someone may prepare you a HSM and needs to authenticate as Security Officer while you use your Personal Identification Number.

1. Do you need multiple Nitrokey HSMs

It depends. I possess multiple HSMs. Usually I buy most security hardware three times. One I use, one backup, one for development/update tests/procedure rehearsals. Even for products I just evaluate/tinker with. As IT professional I see this part of a dedicated education budget.