New User Needs help and clarifications about Nitrokey Pro/X509v3

Hi

I’m enthousiastly waiting for my Nitrokey Pro and HSM devices to arrive by Mail, and really struggling to prepare the path through the documentation.

While the device hardware choice (Start/Pro/Storage/HSM) and OS choice (Windows, Debian, …) realy clear the path through the documentation, willing to use X509v3/PKCS#11 quickly got me lost and confused.

Considering the device bricking warnings, it is even more eerie to dare starting using the device. A simple clear straightforward and comprehensive tutorial for Nitrokey Pro/Windows/PKCS#11 is really needed.

As an IT teacher I know how difficult and time-consuming it is to produce simple clear straightforward and comprehensive tutorial material for all use-cases :wink:

Here are some of the questions that puzzle me. Any help is welcomed :slight_smile:

" Note that a Nitrokey initialized with OpenSC doesn’t work with GnuPG/OpenPGP. But the other way around works fine. "

→ what is exactly meant by ‘initialization’? What does a GnuPG/OpenPGP and an openSC initialization look like? is changing the pin using the Nitrokey App an initialization? If yes, is it either a GPG or an OpenSC init?

→ Does this link describe the right method to initialize the Nitrokey pro? No brick risk ? Is the SO PIN equal to Nitrokey Admin PIN?

Quick start guide to initializing a blank card:

pkcs15-init --create-pkcs15
pkcs15-init --store-pin --auth-id 01 --label “Andreas Jellinghaus”
pkcs15-init --generate-key rsa/1024 --auth-id 01
pkcs15-tool --list-keys

→ If the above link is not safe, does anybody have a link toward an example of Nitrokey Pro init using openSC ?

" Don’t use GnuPG in parallel with OpenSC or another PKCS#11 driver because both may interfere and unexpected issues may result."

→ Does installing both GPG4Win and OpenSC on a computer, but using only OpenSC over a particular Nitrokey Pro device, is a case of interference which may cause problems?